Gold and decoupage

chest

A while back my husband found an abandoned little chest of drawers and rescued it. I didn’t think much of it at first. Sure, it would be practical with the drawers for all the small stuff I some how seem to accumulate, but it looked awful. Well, how about sprucing it up?

What you need:

Gold spray paint

A poster

Some modge podge like substance

I started by cleaning it and sanding it lightly. I removed the drawers and went about spray painting it. To get the nice finish I put on two coats, one day in between.

I found a beautiful poster with a motif by Alphonse Mucha. I measured the drawers and went about cutting it up. I attached the cutouts with something like modge podge. Remember, less is more when it comes to this phase. I put on a little to much at first and the poster wrinkled a bit. Let it dry and then apply another coat to seal the poster in.  The last part was to re-attach the original nobs. I’m very happy with the result, the gold works really well with the color scheme of the poster. Now I just have to fill it up with all my little treasures.

gold chest

2 thoughts on “Gold and decoupage

Leave a Reply

